





The Three Rivers - CEF Grant Scheme

Proudly Supported by Charles Sturt University through the Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health. Charles Sturt University and its consortium partners acknowledge the financial support provided by the Australian Government Department of Health through its Rural Health Multidisciplinary Training Programme in the establishment of the Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health.

Who is Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health?

Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health (UDRH) is a new department within the Faculty of Science at Charles Sturt University (CSU). We are one of 16 UDRHs around Australia funded by the Commonwealth Department of Health to increase rural health workforce.

The Three Rivers 'footprint' covers a vast region of New South Wales, bordered by the Lachlan, Macquarie and Murray Rivers. We are privileged to live, work and study on Wiradjuri land, and acknowledge the traditional custodians, the Wiradjuri people, paying respect to their Elders, past, present and emerging.

Three Rivers is unique amongst the URDHs, as we actually live and work in the area we serve, rather than being an outpost of a metropolitan University. Additionally, we aim to increase rural health workforce in non-medical disciplines of health. As a result, we truly understand the impact and importance of local communities being equipped and enabled to support local people and address local needs, as these are our communities, our people and our areas of needs as well.

What are the funding requirements associated with these grants?

Three Rivers UDRH are delighted to work together with the Country Education Foundation of Australia (CEF) towards our shared aim, increasing access to education for our young people. Specifically, Three Rivers UDRH aims to increase people from our region to study health at a University level. As such, applicants are required to meet the following criteria in addition to any CEF criteria:

- A new or continuing student in a CSU Health Degree (see: What do we mean by 'health degree'?)
- Reside in the local foundation region of the Three Rivers Footprint

Which committees fall within the Three Rivers Footprint?

- Boorowa
- Canowindra
- Coleambally
- Coonamble
- Cootamundra
- Cowra

- Edward River
- Gilgandra
- Griffith
- Grenfell
- Gulargambone
- Harden

- Nyngan
- Orange
- Temora
- West Wyalong
- Young







What do we mean by 'health degree'?

Charles Sturt University offers a range of health qualifications to which this grant can apply.

- Bachelor of Clinical Science
- Bachelor of Dental Science
- Bachelor of Exercise and Sports Science (with specialisation)
- Bachelor of Health and Rehabilitation Science (with specialisations)
- Bachelor of Health Science (Complementary Health)
- Bachelor of Health Science (Leisure and Health) - Diversional Therapy & Leisure Practice
- Bachelor of Health Science (Mental Health)
- Bachelor of Occupational Therapy
- Bachelor of Oral Health (Therapy/Hygiene)
- Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (with specialisations)
- Bachelor of Medical Science (with specialisations)
- Bachelor of Nursing
- Bachelor of Paramedicine or Bachelor of Clinical Practice (Paramedic)

- Bachelor of Pharmacy
- Bachelor of Physiotherapy
- Bachelor of Podiatry or Bachelor of Podiatric Medicine
- Bachelor of Psychology
- Bachelor of Speech and Language Pathology
- Bachelor of Social Science (Psychology)
- Bachelor of Social Work
- Graduate Diploma of Midwifery
- Master of Clinical Exercise Physiology or Master of Clinical Exercise Physiology (Rehabilitation)
- Master of Clinical Psychology
- Master of Health Service Management
- Master of Medical Science
- Master of Professional Psychology
- Master of Speech Pathology
- Master of Social Work (Professional Qualifying)

Note: Some qualifications have two names, as they are old and new versions of the same course, either of which are appropriate. For applicants in a course with *'with specialisations'* next to the title, they may be enrolled in the generic or specialised version of the degree e.g. Bachelor of Medical Science (with specialisations) is equivalent to Bachelor of Medical Science (Pathology).

What is not included in a 'health degree'?

There are many professions that sit at the fringe of the health sector for many reasons. Professions such as sport or science education, sports management and non-human health practice (e.g. veterinary science), agriculture, and non-health related science degrees are not included in our definition of a health degree.

Additionally, sub-degree qualifications such as certificates and diplomas, or vocational qualifications through TAFE or private registered training organisations are not included in the scope of these grants.

Contact your CEF local foundation for more information.